Summary in English below.

Eri, Japan Tracker

Eri, Japan Tracker

(この記事は1日に別のブログで書いたものです。)

eriです。
1日(月)の午後は、AWGKP(京都議定書のもとでの臨時会合)でした。
こちらも今日はオープニングセッションで、議題の決定と
各国が意見を述べるという流れでした。
そこで、今日ついに日本が発言しました。(午前中のAWGLCAでは発言なし。)
ゆっくり一言一言をかみしめるように話している様子は、
ある意味、早口でまくしたてる西欧の国々よりも重みがあると思ってしまうのは
私が日本人だからでしょうか。さて、その内容ですが、主に以下のようでした。

付属書1国でない国も(暗にアメリカですよね)、主要な途上国も(暗に中国)
「全ての」(かなり強調して発言)国が削減行動を行わないといけない。
・京都議定書の単なる改正は受け入れられない
・AWGLCAとAWGKPで一貫性のある議論が必要

誤解を恐れずにまとめてみるならば、
「アメリカや中国が参加しないなら日本もしないぞ」ということを暗に言っているのか…。

もちろんこれらの国々に削減行動を迫ることは必要ですが、日本の姿勢として
あなたたたちがやらないのでは、私もやらないという姿勢ではなくて、
私達はやるのだから、あなたたちもやらなくてはいけない。
という姿勢になることを願っています。

この会議では終了の前に、NGOなど交渉団以外のオブザーバーからの発言があります。ここでは、WWF日本の方が発言されていて、先進国の、特に日本の中期目標について、科学的に求められる25-40%削減を求めていました。
日本を名指しした時にはフロア(主に各国代表団がいる会議の中心スペース)から
笑いが起こっていました。多くの国々が見守る、これも交渉での重要点といえます。

日本はどのような姿勢で交渉を進めていくのがいいのでしょうか?
ただの理想論ではなく、現実的でしかし同時に世界をリードできるような交渉ってどのようなものなのでしょうか?それこそが理想?みなさんはどう思いますか???難しい問題です。

English summary translation:

On the 1st day, the Adhoc Working Group on the Kyoto Protocol (AWG-KP) was held. Today’s program includes the opening session in which they adopt an agenda and show each  party’s stand.
In this session, the Japanese delegation emphasized their stand slowly and clearly. The main points are:

  • EVERY country has to take action (including non Annex Ⅰ – i.e. non rich/developed countries – and major developing countries)
  • Simple changes to the Kyoto Protocol is not acceptable.
  • Talks should be comprehensive: Both the Adhoc Working Group on the Kyoto Protocol (AWG-KP) and the Adhoc Working Group on the Long-term Cooperative Action (AWG-LCA).

I think they implied if the U.S or China doesn’t take action, Japan will not either.

Of course every country should make a serious effort, but I think it is better for Japan to say “We will. And you?”

To lead in the negotiations, how should a negotiator behave? What is not only ideal but also a realistic negotiation?  I think it’s a difficult one to answer.

