Climate Calculator by WWF

Climate Calculator by WWF

Although I am the only tracker actually born and based in Germany, I won’t be able to attend the third round of negotiations in Bonn.

Nonetheless, we have our Swedish tracker Jonathan on the ground and it’s more than important to take a closer look: What’s happening on the ground, what can be expected and what can you and me reasonably push for?

This time, delegates enter a rather informal meeting (there won’t be any plenary sessions) with two hundred pages of “untidy and repetetive legal text” as ECO, the daily onepager in Bonn, calls it. In the focus of these negotiations: The mid-term mitigation targets (how much will developed countries cut down their emissions till 2020?) and the question: Who’s going to pay for it?

In the meantime between Bonn II and this third round, there has been at least some noteworthy progress: For the first time, leaders at the G8 and MEF meetings acknowledged the scientific imperative to keep global warming below 2˚C, and agreed that developed countries would reduce emissions reductions by 80% or more by 2050.

What they haven’t discussed so far, is now again on the table in the Maritim Hotel in Bonn. The challenge they face: Find answers to mid-term mitigation and financing questions – PLUS: cut down those 200 pages to a manageable legal package that can truly be the basis of a binding agreement in Copenhagen.

Although I had recently been unsuccessful to get back in touch with my German lead negotiator Nicole Wilke, I am confident that this meeting might have one decicive advantage: There is notably less distraction for the delegates, since there are no plenary sessions, less NGOs, less activists, which means: This time there are less excuses left in case the delegates themselves don’t make progress.

And just in this very second, I receive a friendly email from Nicole Wilke, offering me to chat about the results of Bonn III on Friday. Cool. Thank you! – Meanwhile, I will follow as closely as I can – and keep you posted. In case you are curious what those decisions made in negotiations like this actually lead to, you might want to have a look at the WWF Climate Calculator – I am sorry guys, but it’s only in German 🙂 For more information on Serious Gaming & Climate Change, you can find my German blogpost on ClimateBlogger.de

